My Off-Canvas

Deans

Shaun Bowler

Shaun Bowler
Dean
graddean@ucr.edu

 

 Emma Wilson

Emma Wilson
emma.wilson@ucr.edu 
Associate Dean, Recruitment, Retention, Student Success
Responsibilities include graduate student recruitment and outreach, oversight of GradSuccess programs and graduate student funding opportunities. 

Tuncel
Ertem Tuncel
ertem.tuncel@ucr.edu
Associate Dean, Graduate Academic Affairs
Responsibilities include petitions, employment, grievances, and academic integrity.

 

Dean’s Office Staff

100 University Office Building
(951) 827-4302

Kennett Lai

Kennett Lai, Assistant Dean
kennett.lai@ucr.edu        
951-827-6117
Chief staff officer, budget control (graduate student financial aid and departmental budget).

Andrea Gonzales

Andrea Gonzales, Financial Operations Manager
andrea.gonzales@ucr.edu       
951-827-2635
Graduate Support Management: Manages fellowship budgets and works with programs to provide financial reporting and data analysis relating to fellowships and recruiting.

Cindy Cardenas, Executive Assistant to the Dean
cynthia.cardenas@ucr.edu  
951-827-6119
Provides administrative support to the Dean, and provides administrative support to the Graduate Division staff.

 

Maria Pimentel

Maria Pimentel, Financial Aid Analyst
maria.pimentel@ucr.edu
951-827-3157
Manages graduate student financial aid awards administered by the Graduate Division through the campus financial aid system.

 

 sonia lepe

Sonia Lepe, Financial Student Aid/Employment Analyst
sonia.lepe@ucr.edu
951-827-6108
Oversees graduate student employment and fellowships.  Processes student financial awards through the campus financial system, reconciles monthly ledgers, and assists with payroll/HR as needed.

Graduate Admission

116 University Office Building
951-827-3313
grdadmis@ucr.edu

The Graduate Admissions unit is part of the Graduate Dean’s Office within the Graduate Division.  The role of this unit is to pursue the recruitment and enrollment of qualified graduate applicants and to assist them through the application process.  This includes providing support as a liaison and point of resource to all graduate program faculty and staff, as well as providing admission counseling to prospective applicants.  The unit is also responsible for the review of graduate applications and execution of all graduate admissions offers and post admission tasks, keeping in line with the rules of the Office of the President and Graduate Council.

 Elisa Gutierrez 

Elisa Gutierrez
Manager
elisa.gutierrez@ucr.edu
Responsible for the management of the Graduate Admissions unit.  Provides direct support to the Graduate Dean implementing and overseeing administrative aspects relevant to graduate student recruitment, admission, and financial support offers.

cytnhiadavis

Cynthia Davis
Student Affairs Officer
Processes Graduate Applications with last name A-I.
cynthia.davis@ucr.edu

Julie Lakatos

Julie Lakatos                           
Student Affairs Officer
Processes Graduate Applications with last name J-P.
julie.lakatos@ucr.edu

mandiecoen

Mandie Coen
Student Affairs Officer
Processes Graduate Applications with last name Q-Z.
mandie.coen@ucr.edu 

Graduate Academic Affairs

140 University Office Building
951-827-3315

The Academic Affairs section of the Graduate Division handles all matters pertaining to the academic record and academic policies governing graduate students. We work closely with program Graduate Advisors and Graduate Program Coordinators on problems that may arise in these areas with their graduate students. We do this by helping them interpret the rules and regulations of the Office of the President, Academic Senate, and Graduate Council pertaining to graduate student education. Academic Affairs also approves student petitions, dissertations, theses, qualifying exam and dissertation committees in addition to approving all advancement paperwork on behalf of the Dean. Additionally, we provide the certificate of completion of all degree requirements once graduation procedures are completed.

 

KaraO

Kara Oswood
Director
Responsible for timetables, appeals, and dismissals.
kara.oswood@ucr.edu

 

Amanda AA

Amanda Wong
Student Affairs Officer
amanda.wong@ucr.edu
Responsible for students last name A-L. 
Specific programs: Cooperating Faculty Information, Final Degree Lists, iLearn Graduate Community, Repeatable Coursework.
 

 Trina Elerts

Trina Elerts
Student Affairs Officer
trina.elerts@ucr.edu
Responsible for students last names M-Z. 
Specific programs: Change Degree Objective, Change/Add Major, Commencement, Incomplete Extension, Intercampus Exchange.

Graduate Financial Support

134 University Office Building
9510827-3390

KarenS

Karen Smith
Director
karen.smith@ucr.edu
Oversees graduate student employment and fellowships.

Postdoctoral Studies

134 University Office Building
951-827-3390

Karen
Karen Smith
Director
karen.smith@ucr.edu
Oversees regulations regarding postdoctoral scholars.

Academic Preparation and Outreach

University Office Building
951-827-3680

Academic Preparation and Outreach is a vital component of the Graduate Division (and the campus as a whole) and strives to diversify and increase our graduate student population by facilitating the recruitment and retention of highly qualified students in UCR's 45 graduate programs.

maria
Maria Franco-Gallardo
Director
Conducts graduate student outreach and recruitment activities. Coordinates diversity fellowship competitions, Mentoring Summer Research Internship Program, UC LEADS and AGEP. Assists in development of special projects and grant proposals pertinent to graduate student recruitment.
maria.franco@ucr.edu
951-827-3680

 

nancycruz

Nancy Cruz
Administrative Coordinator
nancy.cruz@ucr.edu
951-827-6118

GradSuccess

141 University Office Building
951-827-3386

GradSuccess offers student services specifically tailored to suit graduate students' needs.  The office focuses on the academic and professional development of the graduate student community.  GradSuccess is comprised of the Graduate Student Resource Center, the Teaching Assistant Development Program, the Graduate Writing Center, the Graduate Student Mentorship Program, and the Graduate Quantitative Methods Center (GradQuant).

Hillary Jenks
Hillary Jenks
Director
hillary.jenks@ucr.edu

Graduate Writing Center

122 University Office Building
951-827-4307
gwrc@ucr.edu

Christina Trujillo

Christina Trujillo
Graduate Writing Center Coordinator
951-827-4307
christina.trujillo@ucr.edu

The Graduate Writing Center offers writing support and instruction to all UCR graduate students and postdoctoral scholars through programming and free writing consultations. We provide writing assistance in any academic genre during any stage of the writing process.

GradQuant

1425 Life Sciences
951-827-4291

 

Yelda Serin

Yelda Serin
Coordinator
Yelda.serin@ucr.edu

GradQuant offers training for graduate students in probability and statistical inference, statistical software and computing, math for statistics, data management, computer programming, research methods, data analysis, digital humanities, and professional ethics in the management and analysis of data. The educational support ranges from remedial and introductory methods to advanced, specialized training. Graduate students can receive quantitative support via one-on-one consultations with GradQuant staff and via workshops offered by staff and outside experts. GradQuant also provides support for coursework in quantitative classes.

Research Ethics Education Program

133 University Office Building
951-827-4312, 858-752-9585 (cell)

Dena Plemmons

Dena Plemmons
Director
dena.plemmons@ucr.edu

The Research Ethics Education Program at the University of California, Riverside is a campus-wide resource for graduate students, postdoctoral scholars, and faculty across all areas of research and scholarship. We encourage proactive approaches to research integrity and professional conduct through collaborative training and education efforts intended to increase awareness of practices that foster responsible research/scholarship and scientific integrity. The courses and seminars offered by the program are options for meeting federal funding requirements [NIH, NSF, and NIFA/USDA] for training in the responsible conduct of research (RCR).

Search